MOSS: Microsoft Office SharePoint Designer 2007 Restore Web Sites Error (Exportsettings.xml)

Exception:

error occured while importing the web http://SiteURL 

Could not find the file ‘C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\f611fafc-73d8-4b48-bc1e-f9ef6d7cb991\Exportsettings.xml’  

Reason: 

Microsoft Office SharePoint Designer 2007 failed to create a valid Content Migration Package (.cmp) for site having size greater than 25MB. Although, you will have a success message for backup but when you try to restore it, you will face the error of “Exportsettings.xml” file. The backup Content Migration Package (.cmp) can’t be restored. 

A typical “Exportsettings.xml” file has the following contents:  

<?xml version=”1.0″ encoding=”utf-8″ ?>

<ExportSettings xmlns:xsi=”http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance xmlns:xsd=”http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema SiteUrl=”http://ServerName/ FileLocation=”PathOfTheBackupFile BaseFileName=”” IncludeSecurity=”None IncludeVersions=”All ExportPublicSchema=”true ExportMethod=”ExportAll ExcludeDependencies=”true xmlns=”urn:deployment-exportsettings-schema“>

<ExportObjects> 

<DeploymentObject Id=”729ad10a-1ebf-48c1-bc95-ab2ffb7f5663 Type=”Web ParentId=”00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000 Url=”/URLOfTheSite ExcludeChildren=”false IncludeDescendants=”All” />  

</ExportObjects> 

</ExportSettings> 

The problem is that when “Microsoft Office SharePoint Designer 2007” tries to backup the site, WSS fail to create a valid Content Migration Package (.cmp). When, “Microsoft Office SharePoint Designer 2007” download first or some of the Content Migration Package (.cmp) files, other files are deleted. Thanks to the MOOS recycle bin, all the other (.cmp) files go straight to it. 

Resolution: 

The workaround for this problem requires “Microsoft Cabinet Software Development Kit”. Download Cabsdk.exe before proceeding. 

The first step is to take the backup of the site. (For details, follow the link). We name the Content Migration Package (.cmp) as “test.cmp”.Now when your try to restore the site using Content Migration Package (.cmp) “test.cmp”, you will face the error  

“error occured while importing the web http://SiteURL

Could not find the file ‘C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\f611fafc-73d8-4b48-bc1e-f9ef6d7cb991\Exportsettings.xml’ 

To restore the site, go to the Recycle bin of the site and there you will find the files with extension “.cmp”. Example name are like “D3F44E4819C24ED6AA9F7049E04AA431.cmp”, and “D3F44E4819C24ED6AA9F7049E04AA4311.cmp”, Restore these files from recycle bin. 

Now open / refresh the site in Microsoft Office SharePoint Designer 2007 and you will see all the files at the root of the site. 

The next step is to publish these files on the local folder. Right click on the files and select “Publish Selected File..” as shown in the figure below: 

7-1.jpg

“Remote Web Site Properties” dialog box will appear, select “File System” option and “Browse” to the desired local directory as shown in the figure below:  

7-2.jpg 

Click “Ok” and files will be published at the desired directory. 

Now change the extension of the files from *.cmp to *.cab and unzip to the files to a directory, say,”testdir”. (say path C:\testdir) 

Run Console and move to the bin directory of the “Microsoft Cabinet Software Development Kit”. Run the command  cabarc n test-restore.cab C:\testdir\*.* A cab file with the name test-restore.cab will be created in the bin directory of “Microsoft Cabinet Software Development Kit”. Change the extension of the file from and “*.cab” to “.cmp” and use this file to restore the site. 

In case you may encounter an error, try adding the original back up file “test.cmp” into the “testdir” directory or adding all the files from the site recycle bin into the “testdir” directory.

http://technet2.microsoft.com/Office/en-us/library/288fecfb-53fb-4988-89d7-b7888f82bf961033.mspx?mfr=true

http://www.dotnetjunkies.com/WebLog/mwherman2000/archive/2007/07/26/271409.aspx

http://support.sherweb.com/showfaq.php?idarticle=191&idcat=25

64 Comments »

  1. Jeff said

    Where is the MOOS Recycle Bin Located? You refer to this in your artcile, but I have no idea where this is located.

  2. farhanfaiz said

    Jeff:

    You can find the recycle bin in the left bootom of the site. If not visible, one quick workaround is that concatnate the URL of the site with the string below:

    /_layouts/recyclebin.aspx

    If I have a site name “abc” then, the complete URL will be:

    http://server-name/SiteDirectory/abc/_layouts/recyclebin.aspx

    if this don’t work, let me know.

  3. hyze said

    great article. thanks to FarhanFaiz

  4. Alan said

    I followed your procedure to create a new CMP file which I restored via site/administion/restore… I got an error: “an error occured while importing the web… the version of the package is different from the current version this program supports, 12.0.10.0”

    Any ideas?

  5. Tal Winter said

    I tried your solution but i got the same problem. (ExportSettings.xml)

  6. farhanfaiz said

    Tal,

    can you specify more details like the size of the cab file created? did u check the file (ExportSetting.xml) in the unzip data?

    Farhan

  7. John Christensen said

    Do you if Microsoft is doing anything about this.

    I have tried to inform them via the comments on their sharepoint designer site but it is like dealing with a Black Hole.

    It makes WSS into a toy because if you cannot ensure the safety of the data – it is no good for business applications where users are uploading valuable information.

    Cheers
    John

  8. Mike said

    I get the error about it being the wrong version also.
    Says it only supports 12.0.10.0
    I wonder if there is a way to set/fake the version of the cab?

  9. Ethan said

    Hi There,
    I am also encountering the same problem after following the procedure.
    I noticed that the cmp size went from 24.5 mb to ~56mb. I did look at the unzipped directory and found NO xml file in it.
    How do I create the proper xml file?
    Thankx!

  10. farhanfaiz said

    I believe that XML file is in the first “cmp” that you created using Designer.

  11. rachel xu said

    There are three files to be restored. Two of them are .cmp files, and one is .snt file.

    When you said “Now change the extension of the files from *.cmp to *.cab and unzip to the files to a directory, say,”testdir”. (say path C:\testdir) “, did you mean change both .cmp files to .cab file and unzip both?

  12. farhanfaiz said

    yup.
    Change the extension of both *.cmp file to *.cab.

  13. rachel xu said

    Thanks!

  14. Sri Vidya said

    Hi,

    Im trying backup a remote site on to local machine , i got the same error as you have mentioned .I found around 8 to 10 .cmp files apart from .snt file in the recycle bin apart from the main .cmp file at the time of back up.

    I followed exactly the same process you mentioned , converted all invidual .cmp filees to .cab and created a single .cab file out of that , and tried restoring the site.

    Im getting an error saying “Website Restore did not complete successfully”. How do I solve this Issue?

    Thanks!!

  15. farhanfaiz said

    Delete all the files from the recycle bin and try again.

  16. Chris M said

    It is a wild workaround but it works!

    – To restore the .cmp files from the SharePoint Recycle Bin be sure to login as the site collection administrator and go to the site collection bin (e.g.: http:///_layouts/AdminRecycleBin.aspx. To see the restored files use F5 to refresh the web site view in SPD.
    – When the two .cmp files are extracted and recombined the new file will be twice the file size of the original backup file created by SPD.

  17. Theresa said

    Thanks! This is a great workaround. I had to read the instructions a few times and follow the steps very carefully and then it worked for me.

  18. Noman Lakdawala said

    Great research!
    Thanks Farhan

  19. Paul Baker said

    This is so useful! Worked great but I did have to up the maximum upload file size in sharepoint central admin before I got it to work. Thanks ever so much.

  20. Duong said

    I receive the same error
    I followed your procedure to create a new CMP file which I restored via site/administion/restore… I got an error: “an error occured while importing the web… the version of the package is different from the current version this program supports, 12.0.10.0″

    Please help me

  21. Prakash said

    Hi,

    My scenario is moving the sites from one server to another server.

    I tried the way you suggested to create the cmp file. I have created the same successfully. But when I try to restore with the newly created cmp file, I got the error like, “Error occured while importing the web …. Could not find Web Template DR#75803 with LCID 1033”. Please advise me to solve this issue.

    Regards,
    Prakash

  22. Farhan Faiz said

    This may be due to a cutomize template issue. Do you have any customized templates in the server?

  23. Prakash said

    Hi,

    I have solved out the issue “Error occured while importing the web …. Could not find Web Template DR#75803 with LCID 1033″ by installing the Document Review Library review template (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=02c4d1b4-7d53-4b72-b577-3da23f86ec17&displaylang=en) on the destination server.

    Regards,
    Prakash

  24. Fred Zilz said

    Thank you, Thank you. This worked perfectly. (I also needed to change my max upload). You saved me so much work.

  25. Veronica said

    Hi I tried to restore into a new blank site, but I got error that Site didn’t restored sucesfully

    I’m trying to restore it into a different server/farm could be this the problem in my case?

    Any idea on how to fix it?

    Many thanks

  26. Farhan Faiz said

    Veronica,

    Check recycle bin and see if you have files there. I think that new server/farm is not the issue.

    Regards,

  27. andrei said

    Hi Farhan Faiz, thank you for a very good article. But when I tried to restore the site to the destination empty site – I got the follwing error message –>

    Error occurred while importing the web http://extranet.comp.net/***/***. Could not find Web Template PWS#6215 with LCID 1033

    Could you please help me to figure out what it might be ? Thanks for your help.

  28. Farhan Faiz said

    anderi,

    It seems that template is missing on the destination server. Try google and it may be proivded by MS if not a customized template.

    do let me know.

    Regards,

  29. andrei said

    Farhan Faiz,
    I found that template (6215 – PWS (SetupPath=SiteTemplates\PWS) – “Project Workspace”) on the source server as the XML file in the folder here C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\web server extensions\12\TEMPLATE\SiteTemplates\PWS\XML\ONET.XML

    So I was thinking that I can just copy that whole folder PWS into my destination server – same place. But after I copied that folder still getting the same error message while restoring site from backup. Maybe I need to copy any additional folder from source server or template installation is more complex that just 1 folder. Or should I restart the IIS on the destination MOSS after copying the PWS folder ? Any advices will very much appreciated. Thanks.

  30. Farhan Faiz said

    Anderi,

    I belive that you have to add that template. One way of checking can be when you create a new site, that template must be available in the list of template.
    Google will provide you better detail.

    Do let me know.

    Regards,

  31. andrei said

    Seems like that “Project Workspace” template doesn’t present in standard MOSS suite. Probably need to install the MS Project Server and than it will install the add-ons as a template to WSS 3.0. But I don’t need the Ms Project Server on my MOSS farm. Is it any free plug in which can install such “Project Workspace” template in MOSS ? I did not find any so far in “google” 🙂 community.

  32. Nath said

    When I try to restore the .cmp backup to a blank site, I get the error mentioned above: “Web site restore did not complete successfully”. I’ve checked all Recycle Bins (on both original and new sites and on Administration Site), they all are empty. Please advice what to do next.

  33. Farhan Faiz said

    I don’t think that finding anything in recycle bin will help you as error mentioned is not the same.

    Tell me the size of cmp file?

  34. Jeffrey Miller said

    Tried the steps – combined three cmp files into one and it has the xml files like expected – the resultant file is ~69MB because of all the documents in the document libraries – I increased the maximum upload size to 100 MB but am still getting the “Web site restore did not complete successfully”
    I’m assuming there are log files somewhere? Any idea where to look? THANKS FOR YOUR HELP!

  35. Farhan Faiz said

    Jeffrey,

    Location od LOG files is C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\web server extensions\12\LOGS

    I am not sure that issue is Exportsettings.xml file. When you try to restore a site, did u find any error other than “Web site restore did not complete successfully”?

    Do let me know?

  36. dc said

    Same issue for me. I was able to create a combined cmp file (398mb) but when trying to restore, I recieved the same message “Web site restore did not complete successfully”. Recycling bin was empty and followed the right steps. Thoughts?

  37. Farhan Faiz said

    dc,

    Kindly increase maximum file upload size from Central Administration.

    Also, when you take the backup of the site, any file present in recycle bin?

    do let me know.

  38. Jair Gonzalez said

    Hi Farhan.

    I have the same problem. First I had the “could not find the file” error. I used the procedure you described to regenerate the file and then I got the “Web site restore did not complete successfully” error.

    It seems the server can’t accept files larger than 25MB as I tried to copy the regenerated file by opening the UNC route to the folder and Windows gives a message indicating that the file couldn’t be uploaded to the destination. Smaller files are copied without a problem.

    Central Administration is a tool in the SharePoint Server. Right? I don’t have access to it… Maybe it’s time to look for the SharePoint Server manager’s help…

  39. Farhan Faiz said

    Central Administration is not a tool. It is a centralized place used to create and manage all admin related tasks.

    Check your site collection limit from Central Administration.

  40. Jordan said

    Silly question, but why can’t one just use FrontPage 2003 to do this without hassle? Would that work? I’ve used it before without a hitch and SharePoint designer 2007 is giving me huge headaches (plus I don’t seem to have a recycle bin on my externally hosted site) so what can I do?

  41. Jordan said

    (I guess my SharePoint site is running on 2.0 instead of 3.0… so I was told there is no recycling bin)

  42. Jordan said

    Also it turns out that the backup that I made on a 2.0 site was a .fwb file and when I go to restore (on a SharePoint 3.0 server) it is looking for a cmp file. What do I do when backing up one makes a .fwb file and trying to restore to another wants a .cmp file?

  43. Jordan said

    ahhh sorry for the 4th post…. but that’s a .fwp file

  44. […] template to a empty website Hello all, We were having the same problem and I found this site: https://farhanfaiz.wordpress.com/2008…rtsettingsxml/ – which explains all. The problem occurs if the site that is to be exported and then restored […]

  45. MGD King said

    It’s a long process, but it works! Thanks for sharing the tip! I successfully moved a 1.5 GB site to another site using your method!

  46. […] 25 MB.     There are some helpful blog articles already written on this like farhanfaiz’s post with a sample XML file with cabsdk workaround.     And this Technet post […]

  47. Sandeep said

    I tried the process listed by you however i get only one cmp file created and it is 0f 26.6 MB. I keep getting the same error regarding export settings

  48. Farhan Faiz said

    Can you tell me the size of site?

    “Central Administration > Application Management > Site Collection Quotas and Locks”

  49. Ken said

    This is kind of a painful process, but it worked! Thanks for posting this Farhan.

  50. PleaseHalp said

    Hi, is there a resolution for the error “Web site restore did not complete successfully”?

    I backuped the site, published all files from recycle bin to my local drive, changed extension to .cab, export .dat files,and made into a big .cmp file just like the directions.

    The file is 156MB. I think that the max upload size is 50MB. I cannot change the max upload size, because i cannot access the server. Only thing i can use is the sharepoint designer.

    Am I out of luck here?

    Please help, i think my job may ride on this…

  51. Abby said

    Thank you so much for these steps and posts, I restored one site 26mb without a problem. However our larger site is over 121mb and I keep getting the “Web site restore did not complete successfully” error.

    We use a hosted service and I’ve worked with them, they have assured me the upload limit has been increased to 500mb.

    Any other ideas about the problem?

    • Farhan Faiz said

      Abby,

      What is the sizes of files in Recycle Bin?

      • Abby said

        There are no files in the new recycle bin, in the old one there were five plus the snt. The five cmp’s were 29, 26, 26, 26, and 12.

        I opened them all and verified the same number of files existed in the final cab as the sum of each of the five files (722 in total).
        Thanks!

  52. komal said

    while i am importing the .cmp file, getting the same error.I followed this procedure but no luck,same error is appearing.

  53. Anders said

    I´ve tried it out and it worked great when restoring to the same server as the backup. However, when repeating the manouver on another server (production) I get the “other” error message described in previous posts: “Web site restore did not complete successfully”.

    Has anyone succesfully restored to another server?

    I have set the max upload size to 500MB together with the max template document size (stsadm -o setproperty -propertyname max-template-document-size -propertyvalue 524288000). My site is approx 350MB.

    Any hints?

    Keep up the good work!

  54. Dennis said

    I backed up my site to a cmp file. When I change it to a cab, it just contains dat files.

    When I tried to restore I got the XML file missing as well. Two files appear in my recycle bin: 1 cmp and 1 snt file.

    I restored the cmp file to my desktop and renamed to a cab file. I extracted all the dat files to C:\testdir. I used the Windows Cab Kit and created a new cab file from all the dat files. I renamed the new cab file to a cmp extension and tried to restore from that file – same XML error.

    Where am I going wrong?

  55. I resolved an error “Web Web site restore did not complete successfully” by adjusting the maximum upload size on the _destination_ server. SharePoint Designer does a “Restore Site” operation by first uploading the .cmp files. I noticed that SharePoint Designer was not showing the uploaded file in the site, which led me to consider why the upload was not successful. This upload is subject to the limitation imposed by the “Maximum upload size” set in Central Administration>Application Management>General Settings page.

    If you have access to the command line on the _source_ server, you can use “stsadm -o export … -cabsize XXX”, replacing “XXX” with the maximum size in MB. [The maximum you may specify for “XXX” is 1023.] NOTE, however, that the max you specify is not a guaranteed upper limit; stsadm may overrun the size somewhat (to avoid splitting a component, I suppose). For example, I had a ‘-cabsize 100″ command create a .cmp file with 107,831 KB. So leave yourself some headroom between the “-cabsize” and the server’s “Max Upload Size”.

    At the very end of the Restore, I saw an error message “https://myhostname/site is busy. Try again later.” It seems that the site was actually restored successfully, and the “busy” message was the result of SPD trying to open it before it was quite ready. YMMV.

  56. KaleemUllah said

    What i say, i am not concerned with SharePoint still reading the discussion i can say that its a Tremendous article, good work done

  57. Jasmine said

    I have a problem that I haven’t seen mentioned anywhere else.

    When I use the above mentioned method, and when I am extracting the .cab files, the files I am extracting have repeat names. So at a given time I can only have one .cab file extracted because as soon as I extract the next, the names get replaced.

    Anyone have this problem? Or can suggest a workaround?

    Thank you

  58. K. Hust said

    in this step
    “Click “Ok” and files will be published at the desired directory.

    Now change the extension of the files from *.cmp to *.cab and unzip to the files to a directory, say,”testdir”. (say path C:\testdir) ”

    when i unzip cab file(after rename test.cmp to test.cab), i have error “…..\file.cab: Cannot open …..\..\1541541FF44CC…..23f5c113.cmp”

    when i Run the command cabarc, this issue (error exportsetting.xml) was still

    Please Help.

  59. MagButler said

    Excellent post thanks for making sense of this maddening issue!!

  60. MagButler said

    Excellent post thanks for making sense of this issue!!

  61. me said

    It worked for me to use -nofilecompression and execute it twice…
    and Tada!

  62. Dipak said

    Helped me to solve my problem of restoring the site backup, after installing the SP2 it worked! Thanks.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

